Premier League Logo

Battle for Europe: How PL clubs sealed UEFA qualification

14 Aug 2020
Chelsea's Christian Pulisic takes on Liverpool

The Premier League's European qualifiers have been finalised for the 2020/21 season

The Premier League's qualifiers for the 2020/21 UEFA Champions League (UCL) and UEFA Europa League (UEL) have been confirmed.

Below we explain how UEFA qualification was finalised. 

European qualifiers
Position Club  Competition Stage of entry
1 LIV UCL Group stage
2 MCI UCL Group stage
3 MUN UCL Group stage
4 CHE UCL Group stage
5 LEI UEL Group stage
6 TOT UEL Second qualifying round
FA Cup ARS UEL Group stage
UEFA Champions League

LiverpoolManchester City, Manchester United and Chelsea secured the four spots in the UEFA Champions League group stage after finishing in the top four of the 2019/20 Premier League.

UEFA Europa League

As the fifth-placed Premier League team, Leicester City qualified for the group stage of the 2020/21 UEFA Europa League group stage.

Arsenal also claimed a place the UEL group stage as a prize for winning the FA Cup.

As Man City won the EFL Cup, the place in the second qualifying round of the UEL that this trophy merits has gone to sixth-placed Tottenham Hotspur.

See: How European qualification works

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos