Premier League Logo

Egypt and Senegal lead new PL-winning nations

30 Jun 2020
Mane and Salah, Liverpool

Liverpool's title triumph means that four countries have provided a Premier League winner for the first time

With Liverpool confirmed as the 2019/20 Premier League champions, Senegal and Egypt are among the four nations to provide a title-winner in the competition for the first time.

Senegal's Sadio Mane and Egypt's Mohamed Salah have starred in the Reds' attack this season, providing 32 goals and 14 assists between them to break new ground for their countries.

Croatia, through centre-back Dejan Lovren, and Guinea, thanks to midfielder Naby Keita, are the other nations to now boast a Premier League champion.

That takes the total number of nations who have supplied a Premier League winner to 51, out of the 117 countries that have provided a player to the competition.

Most titles by nation
Country Titles won Country No. of players to win title
England 198 England 96
France 56 France 28
Brazil 32 Brazil 19
Netherlands 26 Spain 15
Republic of Ireland 23 Netherlands 14
All eyes on Chelsea

There are a number of major footballing nations among the 66 that have produced a Premier League player but no champion.

A total of 45 players have represented the United States in the competition but none have been able to lift the Trophy.

Chelsea midfielder Christian Pulisic will hope to become the first.

And Morocco international Hakim Ziyech, who has agreed to join the Blues this summer, is another who could add his country to the list.

Turkey, Slovakia and Slovenia are among the other nations yet to supply a Premier League winner.

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos