Premier League Logo

Soyuncu adds to Old Trafford title-winning goals

12 May 2021
Caglar Soyuncu, Leicester

Opposing players in wins at Man Utd have clinched two of Man City’s last three titles

Caglar Soyuncu's winning goal for Leicester City against Manchester United meant Old Trafford was once again the scene of a title triumph for neighbours Manchester City

Man Utd entered Tuesday's match needing to avoid defeat against the Foxes to keep the title race alive.

But after Mason Greenwood cancelled out Luke Thomas' spectacular opener, Leicester centre-back Soyuncu headed in what proved to be the decisive goal.

It now means that two of Man City's last three titles have been confirmed following goals by opposing players at Old Trafford, after Jay Rodriguez struck to help West Bromwich Albion defeat the Red Devils in April 2018.

Soyuncu's header is also the third title-winning goal in the competition's history to be scored by a visiting player at Man Utd, after Sylvain Wiltord secured the 2001/02 crown for Arsenal in a 1-0 triumph.

The centre-back is also the first Leicester player to net the title-winning goal and it will evoke memories for the Foxes, who were confirmed as champions in 2015/16 after Eden Hazard equalised for Chelsea against Tottenham Hotspur at Stamford Bridge.

Iconic title-winning goals
Title-winning goalscorers
Date Player Club Opponent Champions
02/05/1993 Nick Henry OLD AVL MUN
02/05/1994 Julian Darby COV BLB MUN
14/05/1995 Michael Hughes WHU MUN BLB
05/05/1996 David May MUN MID MUN
06/05/1997 Dean Holdsworth WIM LIV MUN
03/05/1998 Slaven Bilic (OG) EVE ARS ARS
16/05/1999 Andrew Cole MUN TOT MUN
22/04/2000 Francis Benali (OG) SOU MUN MUN
14/04/2001 Edu (OG) ARS MID MUN
08/05/2002 Sylvain Wiltord ARS MUN ARS
04/05/2003 Mark Viduka LEE ARS MUN
25/04/2004 Robert Pires ARS TOT ARS
30/04/2005 Frank Lampard CHE BOL CHE
29/04/2006 William Gallas CHE MUN CHE
06/05/2007 Gilberto Silva  ARS CHE MUN
11/05/2008 Cristiano Ronaldo MUN WIG MUN
16/05/2009 N/A MUN CHE MUN
09/05/2010 Nicolas Anelka CHE WIG CHE
14/05/2011 Wayne Rooney MUN BLB MUN
13/05/2012 Sergio Aguero MCI QPR MCI
22/04/2013 Robin van Persie MUN AVL MUN
11/05/2014 Samir Nasri MCI WHU MCI
03/05/2015 Eden Hazard CHE CRY CHE
02/05/2016 Eden Hazard CHE TOT LEI
12/05/2017 Michy Batshuayi CHE WBA CHE
15/04/2018 Jay Rodriguez WBA MUN MCI
12/05/2019 Aymeric Laporte MCI BHA MCI
25/06/2020 Christian Pulisic CHE MCI LIV
11/05/2021 Caglar Soyuncu LEI MUN MCI

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos