Premier League Logo

City retain title with four-goal win at Brighton

12 May 2019
Vincent Kompany lifts the Premier League Trophy

Goals by Aguero, Laporte, Mahrez and Gundogan earn 4-1 win and fourth PL Trophy for Manchester club

Manchester City are the 2018/19 Premier League champions after a goal and an assist from Riyad Mahrez sealed a 4-1 comeback win at Brighton & Hove Albion

Glenn Murray stunned Man City, giving Brighton a shock lead when he headed in Pascal Gross's 27th-minute corner.

Final PL standings

Pos Team Pl GD Pts
1 MCI 38 +72 98
2 LIV 38 +67 97

But Sergio Aguero levelled within 83 seconds after being played in by David Silva, before Aymeric Laporte headed City in front from Mahrez's corner on 38 minutes.

After the break, Mahrez extended the lead by firing into the top corner before Ilkay Gundogan's brilliant free-kick made it 4-1 with 18 minutes remaining.

City finish on 98 points, one above Liverpool, who won 2-0 against Wolverhampton Wanderers on the final day.

See: Brighton reportMan City report

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos