Premier League Schools Tournament

Premier League Schools Tournament 2017 Liverpool winners

Thousands of schoolchildren given a glimpse of life as a Premier League footballer in annual competition

The Premier League Schools Tournament is one of the highlights of the Premier League Communities calendar and allows hundreds of youngsters the chance to experience the thrill of being treated like a top-flight footballer.

Created to increase participation in football, each of the 20 Premier League clubs stages their own competition to select a school to represent them on finals day, with more than 1,400 schools and 11,000 players battling it out for the right to play at Stamford Bridge, home of Premier League champions Chelsea FC in 2017.

The 2017 tournament enabled every top-flight club to have a team in both age groups at the Finals: Under-11 mixed and Under-13 girls.

Premier League Schools Tournament 2017 action shot, Stamford Bridge
The 2017 PL Schools Tournament was held at Stamford Bridge, the home of Premier League champions Chelsea

The 320 players participating on Finals day wear proper Premier League club kit, use the same dressing-rooms that the professionals use on match-day, come down the tunnel to the Premier League anthem and are refereed by Premier League match officials.

2017 PL Schools Tournament in numbers:
  • More than 11,000 children took part
  • More than 1400 schools entered
  • All 20 Premier League clubs were represented
  • 320 children experienced Finals day
Premier League Schools Tournament Roll of Honour 
  Stadium U11 winners U13 winners
2017 Stamford Bridge St Cuthbert's RC Primary (Man City) Chesterfield High School (Liverpool)
2016 Goodison Park YGG Castell Nedd (Swansea) St Bedes (Sunderland)
2015 White Hart Lane Plantation (Liverpool) Stoke Newington (Arsenal)
2014 Etihad Stadium Plantation (Liverpool) All Saints High (Everton)
2013 Anfield Corpus Christi (Fulham) Congleton High (Stoke)
2012 Emirates Corpus Christi (Fulham) St Peter's (Wigan Ath)
2011 Macron Farnborough Road (Liverpool) Broughton Hall (Everton)
2010 Ewood Park Oakthorpe (Spurs) South Hunsley (Hull)
2009 Old Trafford Dorridge Junior (Aston Villa) Durham Johnston (Newcastle)
2008 Madjeski Stadium Ipsley Middle (Aston Villa) Broughton Hall (Everton)
2007 Old Trafford St Jude's (Portsmouth) St Joseph's (Bolton)
2006 The Valley Gomer Junior (Portsmouth) N/A