PL Enterprise

Premier League Enterprise Challenge final, the Pingle School

Young people engaged in business activities courtesy of enterprise programme which has been running since 2008

Premier League Enterprise is joint-funded by the Premier League and Sport Relief and uses the backdrop of professional football clubs' business models to deliver enterprise education to inspire young people and increase their aspirations and skills.

The programme has been recognised for its achievements by winning the 2013 Enterprising Britain Award as well as a special commendation in the 2013 European Enterprise Promotion Awards.

Premier League Enterprise aims to achieve the following:

  • Reducing underachievement and improving educational outcomes
  • Increasing awareness and understanding of Enterprise and/or Entrepreneurship
  • Improving employability and life skills to enable beneficiaries to be more work ready

"We are hearing about problems with the skills gap and not enough young people coming through school who are work ready and it's exactly this kind of extra-curricular activity that will make them good in business"

Steph McGovern, BBC Breakfast

One element of the programme is an annual national competition, the Premier League Enterprise Challenge, which has been running since 2009 and involved over 11,000 young people taking part to date. 

The Premier League Enterprise Challenge gives young people of secondary school age the chance to work with their local professional football clubs on an actual football business challenge set by Premier League Executive Chairman, Richard Scudamore.

The 2016/17 PL Enterprise Challenge was targeted at schools and alternative education establishments and young people in school years 9 and 10. The programme focuses on engaging marginalised young people, identified as underachieving or at risk of not reaching their full potential.

Thirty Premier League and Football League clubs participated in the 2016/17 Premier League Enterprise Challenge, with up to 100 schools and 600 young people taking part.

Each of the participating football clubs' community trusts and foundations deliver sessions for the teams of young people and club heats to select a representative team.

Representative teams from each of the 30 competing clubs attend one of six "play-offs" to compete for one of six places at the Premier League Enterprise Challenge Final.

Premier League Enterprise Challenge Roll of Honour

2016/17 Derby County
2015/16 Manchester United
2014/15 Blackpool
2013/14 West Ham United
2012 Middlesbrough
2011 Blackpool
2010 Tottenham Hotspur
2009 Everton