World Cup review: Belgium's Romelu Lukaku defies Tim Howard American resistance | Barclays Premier League

Cookies on

The Premier League website employs cookies to improve your user experience. We have updated our cookie policy to reflect changes in the law on cookies and tracking technologies used on websites. If you continue on this website, you will be providing your consent to our use of cookies. Find out more.

Wednesday 02 July 2014

World Cup review: Lukaku defies Howard resistance

Chelsea striker beats former Everton clubmate to seal Belgium's passage into last eight

World Cup gallery of BPL players - 1 July

Belgium 2-1 United States (AET; 0-0)

The introduction of Chelsea striker Romelu Lukaku after 90 minutes helped Belgium edge past the United States into the quarter-finals in a thrilling match at Salvador.

Belgium started with five Barclays Premier League players (Thibaut Courtois, Vincent Kompany, Jan Vertonghen, Marouane Fellaini and Eden Hazard) to the US's two (Everton's Tim Howard and Stoke City's Geoff Cameron)

After a goalless 90 minutes, in which Howard excelled in goal for Jurgen Klinsmann's side, Lukaku came on for extra-time and almost immediately set up former Chelsea team-mate Kevin de Bruyne to open the scoring for Belgium. Lukaku doubled the lead on 105 minutes and that proved to be the winner despite Julian Green scoring for the American outfit.

Howard's 15 saves during the match was the highest amount by a goalkeeper in the FIFA World Cup since records began in 1966. When his Everton team-mate Kevin Mirallas came on in the 60th minute it was the first time the Merseyside club had two players on opposing sides in the World Cup. Tottenham Hotspur's Nacer Chadli also came on as a substitute for Belgium.

BPL players to feature
Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea), Vincent Kompany (Man City), Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham Hotspur),  Eden Hazard (Chelsea; sub: 111min), Marouane Fellaini (Man Utd). Subs: Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea, 91); Kevin Mirallas (Everton, 60), Nacer Chadli (Tottenham Hotspur, 111). Subs not used: Simon Mignolet (Liverpool), Adnan Januzaj (Man Utd), Mousa Dembele (Tottenham Hotspur), Thomas Vermaelen (Arsenal).
United States: Tim Howard (Everton); Geoff Cameron (Stoke City). Subs not used: Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Jozy Altidore (Sunderland).

Argentina 1-0 Switzerland (AET; 0-0)

A goal in extra-time from Angel Di Maria sealed Argentina's passage into the last eight.

The Switzerland defence, which included Arsenal's Johan Djourou, had held firm until two minutes before the end of extra-time when the Real Madrid winger curled in a shot after being set up by Lionel Messi.

Manchester City's Pablo Zabaleta played the 120 minutes in the Argentina defence.

BPL players to feature
Pablo Zabaleta (Man City). Subs not used: Martin Demichelis, Sergio Aguero (both Man City).
Switzerland: Johan Djourou (Arsenal), Philippe Senderos (Aston Villa).

BPL players remaining in the FIFA World Cup

Of the 184 players remaining in the tournament, more than a fifth, 41, are from Barclays Premier League clubs. Chelsea lead the way with seven players still on international duty, with Arsenal and Manchester City having six each.

By country

Argentina (3): Sergio Aguero (Man City), Martin Demichelis (Man City), Pablo Zabaleta (Man City).
Belgium  (12): Thomas Vermaelen (Arsenal), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea), Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea), Kevin Mirallas (Everton), Simon Mignolet (Liverpool), Vincent Kompany (Man City), Marouane Fellaini (Man Utd), Adnan Januzaj (Man Utd), Nacer Chadli (Tottenham Hotspur), Mousa Dembele (Tottenham Hotspur), Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham Hotspur).
Brazil (6):
Oscar (Chelsea), Ramires (Chelsea), Willian (Chelsea), Fernandinho (Man City), Julio Cesar (Queens Park Rangers), Paulinho (Tottenham Hotspur).
France (10): Olivier Giroud (Arsenal), Laurent Koscielny (Arsenal), Bacary Sagna (Man City), Mamadou Sakho (Liverpool), Patrice Evra (Man Utd), Mathieu Debuchy (Newcastle United), Moussa Sissoko (Newcastle United), Loic Remy (Queens Park Rangers), Hugo Lloris (Tottenham Hotspur), Morgan Schneiderlin (Southampton).
Germany (4):
Per Mertesacker (Arsenal); Mesut Ozil (Arsenal), Lukas Podolski (Arsenal), Andre Schurrle (Chelsea).
Netherlands (5):
Ron Vlaar (Aston Villa), Robin van Persie (Man Utd), Tim Krul (Newcastle United), Michel Vorm (Swansea City), Jonathan de Guzman (Swansea City).
Costa Rica (1): Joel Campbell (Arsenal).

By club

Chelsea (7): Hazard, Courtois, Lukaku, Oscar, Ramires, Willian, Schurrle.
Arsenal (7):
Vermaelen, Giroud, Koscielny, Mertesacker, Ozil, Podolski, Campbell.
Man City (6):
Aguero, Demichelis, Zabaleta, Kompany, Fernandinho, Sagna.
Tottenham Hotspur (5):
Chadli, Dembele, Vertonghen, Paulinho, Lloris.
Manchester United (4):
Fellaini, Januzaj, Evra, Van Persie.
Newcastle United (3):
Sissoko, Debuchy, Krul.
Liverpool (2):
Mignolet, Sakho
Queens Park Rangers (2): Julio Cesar, Remy.
Swansea City (2): Vorm, De Guzman.
Aston Villa (1): Vlaar.
Everton (1): Mirallas.
Southampton (1): Schneiderlin

Goals scored by BPL teams at the FIFA 2014 World Cup (26)

8 Manchester United
4 Chelsea
3 Liverpool, Arsenal
2 Swansea City, Manchester City
1 Crystal Palace, Newcastle United, Stoke City, Tottenham Hotspur

BPL goalscorers at the FIFA 2014 World Cup

3 Robin Van Persie (Netherlands & Man Utd).
2 Luis Suarez (Uruguay & Liverpool), Wilfried Bony (Ivory Coast & Swansea City).
1 Oscar (Brazil & Chelsea), Daniel Sturridge (England & Liverpool), Joel Campbell (Costa Rica & Arsenal), Marouane Fellaini (Belgium & Man Utd), Mile Jedinak (Australia & Crystal Palace), Wayne Rooney (England & Man Utd), Olivier Giroud (France & Arsenal), Moussa Sissoko (France & Newcastle Utd), Peter Odemwingie (Nigeria & Stoke), Nani (Portugal & Man Utd), Javier Hernandez (Mexico & Man Utd), Fernandinho (Brazil & Man City), Juan Mata (Spain & Man Utd), Fernando Torres (Spain & Chelsea), Edin Dzeko (Bosnia-Herzegovina & Man City), Jan Vertonghen (Belgium & Tottenham Hotspur), Mesut Ozil (Arsenal), Andre Schurrle (Chelsea), Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea).

FIFA World Cup quarter-finals

4 July
France v Germany
9pm Brazil v Colombia

5 July
Argentina v Belgium
9pm Costa Rica v Netherlands

Share this page