Barclays Premier League players in FIFA 2014 World Cup squads

Cookies on

The Premier League website employs cookies to improve your user experience. We have updated our cookie policy to reflect changes in the law on cookies and tracking technologies used on websites. If you continue on this website, you will be providing your consent to our use of cookies. Find out more.

Friday 06 June 2014

Barclays Premier League stars lead the way to Brazil

England’s top tier will be the most represented competition in this summer’s FIFA World Cup

  • Eden Hazard, Ramires and Oscar are among 17 Chelsea players going to the World Cup

  • Manchester City are one of a host of BPL clubs with at least 10 Brazil-bound players

  • Southampton teenager Luke Shaw joins Liverpool captain Steven Gerrard in England's squad

The Barclays Premier League will be leading the way in terms of representation when the FIFA 2014 World Cup starts this month in Brazil.

A total of 110 players at present contracted to Barclays Premier League clubs have been named in the final 23-man squads of the 32 competing nations.

Chelsea are the Barclays Premier League club with the most players in Brazil, with 17 selected. Manchester United are next with 14 players in the squads, followed by Arsenal (13), Liverpool (12) and Manchester City (10). Burnley and West Ham United are the two Barclays Premier League clubs who do not have players there.

England are, naturally, the team with the highest number of Barclays Premier League players in their squad, 22 out of the 23 players. The overseas squad with the most Barclays Premier League players is Belgium, for whom more than half of the 23-man roster ply their trade in England. Manchester City captain Vincent Kompany and Chelsea forward Eden Hazard are among 12 players from the Barclays Premier League representing "The Red Devils".

France, with 10 Barclays Premier League players are the next best represented nation, followed by defending FIFA World Cup champions Spain and hosts Brazil, with seven players each.

Barclays Premier League players selected for FIFA 2014 World Cup

*players included are those registered to BPL clubs until 30 June, 2014, even if they are to be released or are or have been on loan this season. Correct as of 6 June.


Thomas Vermaelen (Belgium), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, Jack Wilshere (both England), Olivier Giroud, Laurent Koscielny, Bacary Sagna (all France), Per Mertesacker, Mesut Ozil, Lukas Podolski (all Germany), Santi Cazorla (Spain), Johan Djourou (Switzerland), Joel Campbell (Costa Rica), Chu Young Park (South Korea)

Aston Villa

Ron Vlaar (Netherlands), Brad Guzan (United States)


Eden Hazard, Thibaut Courtois, Romelu Lukaku (all Belgium), David Luiz, Oscar, Ramires, Willian (all Brazil), Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon), Gary Cahill, Frank Lampard (both England), Andre Schurrle (Germany), John Obi Mikel, Victor Moses, Kenneth Omeruo (all Nigeria), Cesar Azpilicueta, Fernando Torres (both Spain), Christian Atsu (Ghana)

Crystal Palace

Mile Jedinak (Australia)


Kevin Mirallas (Belgium), Leighton Baines, Ross Barkley, Phil Jagielka (all England), Tim Howard (United States)

Hull City

Nikica Jelavic (Croatia), Maynor Figueroa (Honduras)

Leicester City

Riyad Mahrez (Algeria)


Simon Mignolet (Belgium), Steven Gerrard, Jordan Henderson, Glen Johnson, Raheem Sterling, Daniel Sturridge, Rickie Lambert (all England), Mamadou Sakho (France), Kolo Toure (Ivory Coast), Luis Suarez, Sebastian Coates (both Uruguay), Pepe Reina (Spain)

Manchester City

Sergio Aguero, Martin Demichelis, Pablo Zabaleta (all Argentina), Vincent Kompany (Belgium), Edin Dzeko (Bosnia & Herzegovina), Fernandinho (Brazil), Joe Hart, James Milner (both England), Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast), David Silva (Spain)

Manchester United

Marouane Fellaini, Adnan Januzaj (both Belgium), Antonio Valencia (Ecuador), Phil Jones, Wayne Rooney, Chris Smalling, Danny Welbeck (all England), Patrice Evra (France), Shinji Kagawa (Japan), Javier Hernandez (Mexico), Robin van Persie (Netherlands), Nani (Portugal), David de Gea, Juan Mata (both Spain)

Newcastle United

Mathieu Debuchy, Moussa Sissoko (both France), Cheick Tiote (Ivory Coast), Tim Krul (Netherlands), Shola Ameobi (Nigeria)

Queens Park Rangers

Suk Young-Yun (South Korea), Loic Remy (France), Stephane Mbia (Cameroon), Julio Cesar (Brazil)


Dejan Lovren (Croatia), Adam Lallana, Luke Shaw (both England), Maya Yoshida (Japan), Gaston Ramirez (Uruguay), Morgan Schneiderlin (France)

Stoke City

Asmir Begovic (Bosnia & Herzegovina), Wilson Palacios (Honduras), Peter Odemwingie (Nigeria), Geoff Cameron (United States)


Jozy Altidore (United States)

Swansea City

Wilfried Bony (Ivory Coast), Michel Vorm, Jonathan de Guzman (both Netherlands), Sung Yueng-Ki (South Korea)

Tottenham Hotspur

Nabil Bentaleb (Algeria), Nacer Chadli, Mousa Dembele, Jan Vertonghen (all Belgium), Paulinho (Brazil), Hugo Lloris (France), Benoit Assou-Ekotto (Cameroon)

West Bromwich Albion

Ben Foster (England), Diego Lugano (Uruguay)

Number of BPL players at FIFA World Cup by Country

Country   Country   Country  
Algeria 2 Ecuador 1 Netherlands 5
Argentina 3 England 22 Nigeria 5
Australia 1 France 10 Portugal 1
Belgium 12 Germany 4 South Korea 3
Bosnia & H 2 Ghana 1 Spain 7
Brazil 7 Honduras 2 Switzerland 1
Cameroon 3 Ivory Coast 4 Uruguay 4
Costa Rica 1 Japan 2 USA 4
Croatia 2 Mexico 1    

Number of players at FIFA World Cup by BPL team

Team   Team   Team   Team  
Arsenal 13 Everton 5 Man Utd 14 Stoke 4
Aston Villa 2 Hull 2 Newcastle 5 Sunderland 1
Burnley 0 Leicester 1 QPR 4 Swansea 4
Chelsea 17 Liverpool 12 Southampton 6 West Brom 2
Crystal Palace 1 Man City 10 Spurs 7 West Ham 0

Share this page

Key Points

  • 110 Barclays Premier League players will be representing their countries at the 2014 FIFA World Cup
  • Chelsea have 17 players going to Brazil, more than any other English club
  • Aside from England (22), Belgium (12) have the most Barclays Premier League players in their 23-man squad