U21 Premier League Cup qualifying draw announced | Under-21 Premier League Cup

Cookies on Premierleague.com

The Premier League website employs cookies to improve your user experience. We have updated our cookie policy to reflect changes in the law on cookies and tracking technologies used on websites. If you continue on this website, you will be providing your consent to our use of cookies. Find out more.

Friday 29 August 2014

Under-21 Premier League Cup qualifying draw announced

11 Category One and 16 Category Two Academy teams compete for place in main draw

Reading, who won the inaugural U21 Premier League Cup, will enter in the round of 32

The draw for the first and second qualifying rounds of the Under-21 Premier League Cup has been made, with 11 Category Three and 16 Category Two teams competing for a place in the first round proper.

The Under-21 Premier League Cup is in its second season, with Reading winning the inaugural tournament. It was introduced in 2013/14 to add an extra competitive element to the Under-21 campaign.

Hull City face fellow Barclays Premier League club Burnley in qualifying round 1, which is filled by 11 Category Three teams. Because there are six teams from the North region and five from the South, one club, Doncaster Rovers, receive a bye.

Doncaster and the five winning teams will be joined by 16 Category Two clubs in the second qualifying round. One Category Two team each from the North (Crewe Alexandra) and South (Queens Park Rangers) regions will receive a bye at this stage.

The 12 successful clubs join 19 Category One clubs in the main draw. In the round of 32 one club will receive a bye.

Qualifying round 1 ties will be played the week commencing 15 September 2014, while qualifying round 2 matches will take place on the week beginning 6 October.

All ties will be decided on the day with extra-time played if the scores are level after 90 minutes. If the scores remain tied after extra-time, a penalty shootout will be used to determine the winner.

Under-21 Premier League Cup qualifying round 1

Wigan Athletic v Preston North End
Watford v Peterborough United
Hull City v Burnley
Gillingham v Plymouth Argyle
AFC Wimbledon v Bournemouth
Bye – Doncaster Rovers

Qualifying round 2

Nottingham Forest v Wigan Athletic or Preston North End
Bristol City v Watford or Peterborough United
Sheffield Wednesday v Hull City or Burnley
Cardiff City v Gillingham or Plymouth Argyle
Leeds United v Doncaster Rovers
Charlton Athletic v AFC Wimbledon or Bournemouth
Birmingham City v Sheffield United
Millwall v Colchester United
Huddersfield Town v Barnsley
Ipswich Town v Swansea City
Bye – Crewe Alexandra
Bye – Queens Park Rangers

Category One Academies in round of 32

Aston Villa
Blackburn Rovers
Bolton Wanderers
Brighton & Hove Albion
Derby County
Leicester City
Manchester City
Newcastle United
Norwich City
Stoke City
West Bromwich Albion
West Ham United
Wolverhampton Wanderers

Match dates

Qualifying Round 1: Week beginning 15 September 2014
Qualifying Round 2: Week beginning 6 October 2014
Round of 32: Week beginning 24 November 2014
Round of 16: Week beginning 22 December 2014
Quarter-final: Week beginning 19 January 2015
Semi-final: Week beginning 16 February 2015
Final: Week beginning 16 March 2015

Ties will be played within 14 days of the proposed starting date of the round.

Share this page