Cookies on

The Premier League website employs cookies to improve your user experience. We have updated our cookie policy to reflect changes in the law on cookies and tracking technologies used on websites. If you continue on this website, you will be providing your consent to our use of cookies. Find out more.

Tuesday 13 May 2014

Suarez and Pulis claim Barclays season awards

Crystal Palace manager and Liverpool striker rewarded for performances in 2013/14

  • Liverpool striker Luis Suarez with his two awards from Barclays

  • Crystal Palace's Tony Pulis received his Barclays award at the LMA event

Luis Suarez has added to his accolades this season by being named the Barclays Player of the Season for 2013/14.

The panel of judges who voted for the Barclays Players of the Month over the course of the season picked the Liverpool forward as their best player after he struck a record-equalling 31 goals, as well as 12 assists, for a 38-match campaign.

His performances meant that the Uruguayan also collected the Barclays Golden Boot award for finishing the campaign as the top goalscorer in the Barclays Premier League.

Suarez was voted the Player of the Season by his peers at the Professional Footballers Association last month and by the Football Writers’ Association, too.

The Barclays panel voted Tony Pulis as the Barclays Manager of the Season. The Crystal Palace manager guided the Eagles to 11th in the Barclays Premier League after joining the club in November when they had four points and were bottom of the table. Pulis was presented with his award at last night's League Managers’ Association awards dinner. Speaking after receiving the award, the Welshman believes his work has only just begun.

"This is a community club based in the most densely populated area in London and has a great opportunity of pushing forward,” he said. “We’ve got to stay in the Premier League for the next two or three years to realise what we can eventually achieve. We have to look forward and say this is the way we will go and do it."

The Barclays Golden Glove award for 2013/14 was jointly won by Chelsea's Petr Cech and Arsenal's Wojciech Szczesny. The two goalkeepers kept 16 clean sheets each this season, Cech doing so in 34 Barclays Premier League appearances and Szczesny in 37. This is the third time that Cech has won the award, and the first time for Szczesny.

Previous winners of Barclays monthly awards this season

Connor Wickham (Sunderland); Manager: Tony Pulis (Crystal Palace)

Steven Gerrard, Luis Suarez (both Liverpool); Manager: Brendan Rodgers (Liverpool)

Player: Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool); Manager: Sam Allardyce (West Ham United)

Adam Johnson (Sunderland); Manager: Manuel Pellegrini (Manchester City)

Luis Suarez (Liverpool); Manager: Manuel Pellegrini (Manchester City)

Tim Krul; Manager: Alan Pardew (both Newcastle United)

Sergio Aguero (Man City); Manager: Mauricio Pochettino (Southampton)

Aaron Ramsey; Manager: Arsene Wenger (both Arsenal)

Daniel Sturridge; Manager: Brendan Rodgers (both Liverpool)

Share this page