Cookies on

The Premier League website employs cookies to improve your user experience. We have updated our cookie policy to reflect changes in the law on cookies and tracking technologies used on websites. If you continue on this website, you will be providing your consent to our use of cookies. Find out more.

Saturday 24 May 2014

QPR promoted to the Barclays Premier League

Bobby Zamora's 90th-minute goal beats Derby County in Championship play-off final

  • QPR's Bobby Zamora scores the only goal after coming on as a sbustitute

  • It is the second time a Zamora goal has won a club promotion to the Barclays Premier League

  • The jubilant QPR team lift the play-off final winners' trophy

A last-minute goal from Bobby Zamora sent Queens Park Rangers back to the Barclays Premier League at the first attempt as they beat Derby County 1-0 in the Championship play-off final at Wembley.

With their first shot on target in the 90th minute, the 33-year-old forward, who also fired West Ham United into the Barclays Premier League with the only goal in the 2005 play-off final, struck for 10-man QPR.

Derby dominated the first half but could not convert it to goals. Craig Forsyth headed a cross from Jamie Ward wide and Will Hughes shot over from the edge of the penalty area. QPR goalkeeper Rob Green was then forced to save Johnny Russell's deflected shot and to tip past the post Jamie Ward's inswinging free-kick.

QPR’s best chance was to top scorer Charlie Austin just before the hour but the striker shot wide after latching on to Armand Traore’s cut-back.

Harry Redknapp’s team had been the less dominant of the teams and their task was made harder with the dismissal in the 60th minute of Gary O'Neil for denying Russell a goalscoring opportunity.

With O’Neil dismissed, Derby ramped up the pressure but could not find a way past Green, who saved from Craig Bryson, Chris Martin and Simon Dawkins in a 10-minute spell.

Just as the match seemed to be heading to extra-time, Derby captain Richard Keogh miscontrolled the ball in the penalty area and Zamora curled in his shot with his left foot to seal the match.

Queens Park Rangers join the champions of the Championship, Leicester City, and Burnley in getting promoted to the Barclays Premier League. They will formally become members of the Premier League at the shareholders' meeting on 4 June. One of the founding members of the Premier League, 2014/15 will be QPR’s seventh in the competition.

QPR's past seasons in the Barclays Premier League

  Pos P W D L F A Pt
2012/13 20 38 4 13 21 30 60 25
2011/12 17 38 10 7 21 43 66 37
1995/96 19 38 9 6 23 38 57 33
1994/95 8 42 17 9 16 61 59 60
1993/94 9 42 16 12 14 62 61 60
1992/93 5 42 17 12 13 63 55 63

Share this page

Key Points

  • Queens Park Rangers third and final team to win promotion to the Barclays Premier League
  • They join Leicester City and Burnley after beating Derby County 1-0 in play-off final
  • QPR forward Bobby Zamora struck the only goal in the 90th minute