Cookies on

The Premier League website employs cookies to improve your user experience. We have updated our cookie policy to reflect changes in the law on cookies and tracking technologies used on websites. If you continue on this website, you will be providing your consent to our use of cookies. Find out more.

Monday 05 May 2014

'Remarkable' Suarez wins FWA Footballer of the Year award

Liverpool striker beats Steven Gerrard and Yaya Toure to win Writer's honour

Luis Suarez has scored 30 Barclays Premier League goals so far this season

Liverpool striker Luis Suarez has been rewarded for his superb campaign after being named as the Football Writers' Association’s (FWA) Footballer of the Year for 2014.

The 27-year-old came out on top in the poll of football journalists with 52% of the vote, with Liverpool captain Steven Gerrard in second and Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure in third.

Suarez has been in sensational form for Liverpool this season, scoring 30 Barclays Premier League goals so far to spearhead the club's challenge for the League title. Liverpool still have two matches of the season to play, against Crystal Palace on Monday night and Newcastle United on 11 May.

"Those members who have been fortunate enough to be working at a match involving Luis Suarez have witnessed an astonishing talent first-hand," said FWA chairman and Sunday Mirror columnist Andy Dunn.

"Tireless endeavour allied to extraordinary imagination makes an irresistible combination. Add ingenious, impudent finishing and you have a footballer who truly quickens the pulse. Luis is a remarkable gifted addition to the long and distinguished list of winners of our award."

Suarez, who also won the Professional Footballers' Association's Player of the Year Award last weekend, will collect his FWA honour at the Footballer of the Year dinner in London on 15 May.

Past FWA Players of the Year during Barclays Premier League

(Players in bold also won the PFA Player of the Year Award)

FWA Player of the Year
Season Player Club
1992/93 Chris Waddle
Sheffield Wednesday
1993/94 Alan Shearer
Blackburn Rovers
1994/95 Jurgen Klinsmann
Tottenham Hotspur
1995/96 Eric Cantona Manchester United
1996/97 Gianfranco Zola
1997/98 Dennis Bergkamp Arsenal
1998/99 David Ginola Tottenham Hotspur
1999/00 Roy Keane Manchester United
2000/01 Teddy Sheringham Manchester United
2001/02 Robert Pires
2002/03 Thierry Henry Arsenal
2003/04 Thierry Henry Arsenal
2004/05 Frank Lampard
2005/06 Thierry Henry Arsenal
2006/07 Cristiano Ronaldo Manchester United
2007/08 Cristiano Ronaldo Manchester United
2008/09 Steven Gerrard
2009/10 Wayne Rooney Manchester United
2010/11 Scott Parker
West Ham United
2011/12 Robin van Persie Arsenal
2012/13 Gareth Bale Tottenham Hotspur
2013/14 Luis Suarez Liverpool

Share this page

Key Points

  • Luis Suarez named Football Writers' Association Player of the Year
  • Liverpool striker wins ahead of Steven Gerrard and Yaya Toure
  • Suarez has scored 30 Barclays Premier League goals so far this season