Cookies on

The Premier League website employs cookies to improve your user experience. We have updated our cookie policy to reflect changes in the law on cookies and tracking technologies used on websites. If you continue on this website, you will be providing your consent to our use of cookies. Find out more.

Sunday 04 May 2014

Brighton seal fourth and final promotion play-off spot

South Coast side join Derby, QPR and Wigan in play-offs starting this week

Leonardo Ulloa's stoppage-time goal secured a play-off place for Brighton

The four Championship clubs competing for the final promotion spot to the Barclays Premier League were confirmed yesterday.

With Leicester City crowned champions of the Championship and Burnley also secure of automatic promotion, four sides now play off to join them, of which three have recent experience of the Barclays Premier League.

Queens Park Rangers and Wigan Athletic, who were relegated last season, will face each other in a two-legged tie starting on Friday 9 May as they seek to book an immediate return.

Derby County, who finished 3rd in the Championship and were most recently in the Barclays Premier League for the 2007/08 season, after a six-year spell from 1996, will take on Brighton & Hove Albion on Thursday.

Brighton will be aiming to secure a place in the Barclays Premier League for the first time. The South Coast side only got into the play-offs with a stoppage-time goal from Leonardo Ulloa yesterday that secured victory over Nottingham Forest, while denying sixth place from Reading, who had been hoping for an immediate return to the Barclays Premier League.

The winners of the semi-finals will face each other at Wembley on 24 May.

Championship play-off schedule

8 May 7:45pm Brighton & Hove Albion v Derby County
9 May 7:45pm Wigan Athletic v Queens Park Rangers
11 May 5:15pm Derby County v Brighton & Hove Albion
12 May 7:45pm Queens Park Rangers v Wigan Athletic
24 May 3pm Final (Wembley Stadium)

Share this page

Key Points

  • Four Championship clubs looking to gain final promotion spot to the Barclays Premier League via the play-offs confirmed
  • Derby County will play Brighton & Hove Albion while Queens Park Rangers take on Wigan Athletic for place in final
  • The winner of the final on 24 May will join Leicester City and Burnley in getting promoted from the Championship