Cookies on

The Premier League website employs cookies to improve your user experience. We have updated our cookie policy to reflect changes in the law on cookies and tracking technologies used on websites. If you continue on this website, you will be providing your consent to our use of cookies. Find out more.

Monday 28 April 2014

Suarez grateful to team-mates after winning PFA award

Liverpool striker rated by his peers while Eden Hazard wins young player award

Luis Suarez, right, holds his PFA award with Eden Hazard

Luis Suarez expressed his gratitude to  his Liverpool team-mates and coaching staff in accepting the Professional Footballers' Association's Player of the Year Award last night in London.

The 27-year-old Liverpool striker, who is the Barclays Premier League’s top scorer this season with 30 goals, became the first non-European to win the award, which is voted on by his playing peers, finishing ahead of Chelsea’s Eden Hazard and Yaya Touré, of Manchester City.

“It’s a massive prize for my career,” Suarez said after collecting his award at the Grosvenor House Hotel, in London. “Everyone knows why. Ninety-five per cent of this is because of my team, the staff, because they do a great job.”

"The Premier League is full of really great players and so it is a great honour when these players recognize your work on the pitch. I always try my best for the team and it is nice to get awards but really this is for my teammates and the staff at Liverpool because without their help I wouldn't have this prize."

There was consolation for Hazard missing out on the main award by being named the Young Player of the Year ahead of Liverpool’s Daniel Sturridge and Luke Shaw, of Southampton.

Suarez was named alongside strike partner Sturridge and his captain Steven Gerrard in the PFA's Barclays Premier League team of the year.

PFA Premier League team of the year 2013/14

Petr Cech (Chelsea), Seamus Coleman (Everton), Vincent Kompany (Manchester City), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Luke Shaw (Southampton), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Yaya Toure (Manchester City), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Southampton), Luis Suarez (Liverpool), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool).


Share this page

Key Points

  • Liverpool forward Luis Suarez wins Professional Footballers' Association's Player of the Year Award
  • Chelsea's Eden Hazard named Young Player of the Year
  • Three players each from Chelsea and Liverpool in the PFA's team of the year