Cookies on

The Premier League website employs cookies to improve your user experience. We have updated our cookie policy to reflect changes in the law on cookies and tracking technologies used on websites. If you continue on this website, you will be providing your consent to our use of cookies. Find out more.

Thursday 28 June 2012

Spain reach Euro 2012 final

Portugal beaten in a penalty shoot-out by defending champions

  • Spain celebrate reaching their third major international final in succession

  • Xabi Alonso and Andres Iniesta revel in victory after a tense semi-final against Portugal

Portugal 0-0 Spain
Spain win 4-2 on penalties

Former Arsenal star Cesc Fabregas scored the winning spot-kick as Spain reached the final of Euro 2012.

It was tough on Portugal who matched their much-praised Iberian rivals for much of the 120 minutes of a tense, hard-fought but goalless match.

But the shoot-out victory put defending champions Spain into the final and meant Vicente del Bosque's side became only the second team to reach three successive major international finals, after West Germany in the 1970s.

It was a match of few chances, but Portugal gained confidence from the way they unsettled Spain in the first half.

However, for all the endeavour of Manchester United's Nani and Real Madrid's Cristiano Ronaldo, the Portuguese did not seriously threaten Iker Casillas's goal.

The defending champions enjoyed more possession in the second half and into extra-time - and Rui Patricio made a great save from Andres Iniesta to keep the scores level.

Both Xabi Alonso and Joao Moutinho missed their opening penalty kicks in the shoot-out, but Iniesta and Gerard Pique for Spain and Pepe and Nani for Portugal netted.

Sergio Ramos then produced a delightful chipped finish from his spot-kick and Bruno Alves struck the bar to give Fabregas the chance to fire Spain into the final.

Share this page

Key Points

  • Spain into final of Euro 2012 after win over Portugal
  • Teams draw 0-0 after extra time in tense match
  • Cesc Fabregas scores winning penalty for holders