Cookies on

The Premier League website employs cookies to improve your user experience. We have updated our cookie policy to reflect changes in the law on cookies and tracking technologies used on websites. If you continue on this website, you will be providing your consent to our use of cookies. Find out more.

Friday 14 December 2012

Chelsea set sights on joining world class elite

The Blues can become only the second Premier League side to win the World Club Cup on Sunday

  • Man United's Paul Scholes (left) beats Palmeiras's Zinho in the 1999 Intercontinental Cup final

  • United celebrate becoming the first Premier League side to win the Intercontinental Cup

  • Edmundo scores Vasco da Gama's third goal as United lose 3-1 at the Maracana in 2000

  • 2005 Champions League winners Liverpool line up ahead of their 1-0 loss to Sao Paulo

  • Wayne Rooney scores United's only goal against Quito in Japan in 2008

  • United captain Rio Ferdinand lifts the FIFA World Club Cup trophy in 2008

Chelsea will be looking to become the second Barclays Premier League club to be Club World Cup winners when they take on Brazilian side Corinthians on Sunday in Yokohama.

Since the Premier League started in 1992 only Manchester United have been crowned world champions, achieving the feat twice.

Sir Alex Ferguson's side first beat Palmeiras, of Brazil, 1-0 in Tokyo in December 1999 thanks to a first-half goal from Roy Keane, when the prize at stake was the Intercontinental Cup, also known as the Toyota Cup.

In 2008, in the Club World Cup, as it had become, United overcame Ecuadorean side LDU Quito 1-0 thanks to a 73rd-minute goal from Wayne Rooney in Yokohama. This triumph made up for their disappointing performance eight years earlier when they exited an expanded Club World Championship in Brazil at the group stage.

Liverpool are the only other Premier League club to have reached the final, in 2005, when Rafael Benitez’s side lost 1-0 to Sao Paulo in Yokohama.

2000 Brazil

Group stage: Manchester United 1 (Yorke) Necaxa 1
Group stage: Manchester United 1 (Butt) Vasco Da Gama 3
Group stage: Manchester United 2 (Fortune 2) South Melbourne 0

2005 Japan

Semi-final: Liverpool 3 (Crouch 2, Gerrard) Saprissa 0
Final: Liverpool 0 Sao Paulo 1

2008 Japan

Semi-final: Manchester United 5 (Rooney 2, Fletcher, Vidic, Ronaldo) Gamba Osaka 3
Final: Manchester United 1 (Rooney) LDU Quito 0

As Intercontinental Cup

1968 Estudiantes 1-0 Manchester United; Manchester United 1-1 Estudiantes (Estudiantes win 2-1 on aggregate)
1980 Nacional 1-0 Nottingham Forest (Tokyo)
1981 Flamengo 3-1 Liverpool (Tokyo)
1982 Penarol 2-0 Aston Villa
Independiente 1-0 Liverpool
Manchester United 1-0 Palmeiras

Share this page

Key Points

  • Chelsea to become only second Premier League club to win FIFA World Club Cup if successful on Sunday
  • Twice winners Manchester United are only other English side to triumph
  • Blues to face Brazilian side Corinthians in Sunday morning's final in Yokohama