Cookies on

The Premier League website employs cookies to improve your user experience. We have updated our cookie policy to reflect changes in the law on cookies and tracking technologies used on websites. If you continue on this website, you will be providing your consent to our use of cookies. Find out more.

Thursday 25 April 2013

Japan joins list of Premier League champion nations

Shinji Kagawa becomes first player from Japan to win medal, joining 36 other nationalities

Shinji Kagawa has become the first Japanese player with a Premier League winners' medal

With the 3-0 victory over Aston Villa on Monday night, Manchester United secured a 20th title and it meant that a 37th new nationality joined the ranks of global group of players to have secured a Barclays Premier League winners' medal.

Japan is the latest country to provide a medal-winner with midfielder Shinji Kagawa. In total there are 182 players to have won winners' medals under Rule C.10. of the Premier League which states:

"The League Champions shall further receive 30 commemorative medals to be presented by the Club to its manager and to such of its Players and Officials as it thinks fit provided, in the case of the Player, that he has that Season, played in a minimum of 10 of its League Matches. Additional medals may be presented with the consent of the Board."

The winners have come from five continents, from the West and the Far East and as north as Iceland and as south as Argentina.

For a full list of nationalities see the graphic below.


Share this page

Key Points

  • Manchester United's Shinji Kagawa became the first Japanese player to claim a Premier League winners' medal
  • In total players from 37 nations have claimed the medal under the Premier League's rules
  • There have been 182 players to have won medals