Cookies on

The Premier League website employs cookies to improve your user experience. We have updated our cookie policy to reflect changes in the law on cookies and tracking technologies used on websites. If you continue on this website, you will be providing your consent to our use of cookies. Find out more.

Thursday 03 May 2012

Rooney stunner wins 20 Seasons Best Goal

Man Utd star gets award for overhead kick against Man City in 2010/11 season

Man Utd's Wayne Rooney scores his award-winning goal against Man City in February 2011

Manchester United striker Wayne Rooney has won the Premier League Goal of the 20 Seasons Award.

The 26-year-old's spectacular overhead kick against Manchester City in February 2011 was voted the best ever in a Premier League poll of hundreds of thousands of football fans from around the world.

"I grew up watching the Premier League so this is a great feeling"
- Wayne Rooney

Rooney beat off competition from the other nine nominated goals, gaining 26% of the vote to finish ahead of his rivals.

Dennis Bergkamp's impudent flick and spin goal for Arsenal against Newcastle in March 2002 received 19% of the votes, with Thierry Henry's flicked volley for the Gunners against Manchester United in September 2000 taking 15%.

"I grew up watching the Premier League so to be voted the Best Goal in the history of the Premier League is a great feeling," said Rooney upon receiving the award.

"There's so many good goals in that shortlist, goals that I watched in my living room as a kid: Alan Shearer's goal, Paulo Di Canio's, Tony Yeboah's, David Beckham's.

"To be competing with them and winning is a great honour for me and something I'm very proud of. I'd like to say a big thank you to all the fans that voted for me."

First award

The Goal of the 20 Seasons is the first Award to be announced as part of the Premier League's 20 Seasons celebrations, which are designed to honour the players, managers and football that has taken place over the two decades of the world's most watched and supported football league.

There were 300,000 fans who voted in the Premier League 20 Seasons Awards casting over 4.2m votes in five categories: Goal, Match, Save, Goal Celebration and Fantasy Team of the 20 Seasons.

In addition, there are also six panel categories: Player, Manager, Team, Season, Most Memorable Quote and Fantasy Team of the 20 Seasons.

The winners of these Awards will be announced over the course of the next 12 days, leading up to a special presentation ceremony to honour several winners on Tuesday 15th May when the Player and Manager of the 20 Seasons Awards will be announced.

Rooney follows in the footsteps of former Manchester United star David Beckham, who in 2002 received the Goal of the 10 Seasons Award for his audacious halfway line effort against Wimbledon in August 1996.

Share this page

Key Points

  • Wayne Rooney wins Best Goal in 20 Seasons Awards
  • Man Utd striker wins Public Vote for overhead kick against Man City in 2010/11
  • Special ceremony to honour several winners will take place on Tuesday 15th May