Cookies on

The Premier League website employs cookies to improve your user experience. We have updated our cookie policy to reflect changes in the law on cookies and tracking technologies used on websites. If you continue on this website, you will be providing your consent to our use of cookies. Find out more.

Tuesday 15 May 2012

Ferguson wins 20 Seasons Best Manager

Man Utd boss scoops prize to help celebrate 20th anniversary of Premier League

Man Utd boss Sir Alex Ferguson has won the Premier League in 12 of the 20 seasons

Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson has been named the Best Manager in the 20-year history of the Premier League.

The Scot is the only man to have managed in all 20 Seasons of the Premier League and he was chosen from a shortlist of five contenders by a panel of football experts.

"He's very honoured by the recognition of what he and the club have achieved"
- Man Utd's David Gill

At a special ceremony in London on Tuesday, Man Utd chief executive David Gill accepted the award on Ferguson's behalf and paid tribute to the Old Trafford's club's long-serving boss.

"He's very honoured by the recognition of what he and the club have achieved over the past 20 years," said Gill.

"You see the hunger, enthusiasm and drive day in, day out. He didn't sleep on Sunday night [after Man Utd missed out on the title] and was in the office at 7.30am on Monday morning.

"He's a winner. Football is his life and long may it continue.

"You can feel Sir Alex's influence throughout the club of course. Man Utd has grown immeasurably and he understands the other areas of the club and knows that Man Utd as a whole has to have all parts working together.

"I'm sure he'll have many more years with us. Am I confident for next season? Always with that manager."

Rivals pay tribute

Ferguson's managerial rivals also paid tribute to the 12-time Premier League winner, with Tottenham Hotspur boss Harry Redknapp saying: "He's built teams and dismantled them time and again and it's amazing. He's never lost that enthusiasm that has set him apart."

Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger added: "We have had our battles but there is respect there and what he has achieved is phenomenal.

"His hunger is an example for every young manager"
- Arsene Wenger

"He is always motivated to do well, and despite his age he has always stayed modern. His hunger is an example for every young manager."

Everton's David Moyes called Ferguson "driven", and added that his players "always look comfortable in his company but know what will happen if they step out of line."

Ferguson beat off competition from Redknapp, Wenger, Moyes and former Chelsea manager Jose Mourinho to win the accolade as part of the Premier League's 20 Seasons Awards.

There were 300,000 fans who voted in the Awards casting over 4.2m votes in five categories: Goal, Match, Save, Goal Celebration and Fantasy Team of the 20 Seasons.

In addition, there were also six panel categories: Player, Manager, Team, Season, Most Memorable Quote and Fantasy Team of the 20 Seasons.

Share this page

Key Points

  • Sir Alex Ferguson wins Best Manager in Premier League 20 Seasons Awards
  • Scot was chosen for prize by panel of football experts
  • Ferguson received award at special ceremony to honour several winners on Tuesday