Cookies on

The Premier League website employs cookies to improve your user experience. We have updated our cookie policy to reflect changes in the law on cookies and tracking technologies used on websites. If you continue on this website, you will be providing your consent to our use of cookies. Find out more.

Monday 09 January 2012

FIFA honour Manchester United trio

Sir Alex Ferguson, Wayne Rooney and Nemanja Vidic acknowledged at FIFA gala

Wayne Rooney missed out on the best goal of 2011 for his overhead kick against Man City

Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson and players Wayne Rooney and Nemanja Vidic have all been honoured by FIFA at their annual awards ceremony in Zurich.

Ferguson, 70, was the winner of the Presidential Award at the FIFA Ballon d'Or gala, while Rooney and Vidic were named in the FIFPro World XI for 2011.

"Manchester United have always shared my vision and my passion"
- Sir Alex Ferguson

The United boss, who lost out on coach of the year to Barcelona manager Pep Guardiola, received his award from FIFA president Sepp Blatter.

"No matter the honour I get, I feel it's recognition for the last 25 years at Manchester United," said Ferguson, who celebrated a quarter of a century at Old Trafford in November 2011.

"United have always shared my vision and my passion and I am a very lucky manager because that's what makes Manchester United such a special club.

"The courage to play and the courage to try and win is more important than anything, and I've had some incredible players in my time at the club. This award is very much appreciated."

Rooney and Vidic, meanwhile, were the Barclays Premier League's representatives in the FIFPro XI for 2011, with the other nine players coming from Real Madrid and Barcelona in Spain's La Liga.

"It was a great year and it was incredible to win the 19th League title for Manchester United last year, that was the highlight and a great moment for the club," said Rooney.

Rooney missed out on the FIFA Puskas Award 2011 for the best goal of the year, his brilliant overhead kick against Manchester City in the Barclays Premier League failing to beat Santos star Neymar's effort against Flamengo.

Barcelona's Lionel Messi won the prestigious FIFA Ballon d'Or award, while Japan's Homare Sawa won the women's prize.

Share this page

Key Points

  • Sir Alex Ferguson wins FIFA presidential award
  • Rooney and Vidic named in FifPro team of 2011
  • Barcelona forward Lionel Messi wins Ballon d'Or