Cookies on

The Premier League website employs cookies to improve your user experience. We have updated our cookie policy to reflect changes in the law on cookies and tracking technologies used on websites. If you continue on this website, you will be providing your consent to our use of cookies. Find out more.

Sunday 07 April 2013

On this day: Newell scores thousandth goal

In our series looking at Premier League history, a landmark is reached in the inaugural season

  • Mike Newell scored 13 league goals for Blackburn in 1992/93, his best season at the club rifles through the annals of the Barclays Premier League to find significant events.

On this day: 7 April 1993 Mike Newell scores the 1,000th Barclays Premier League goal

When Blackburn Rovers striker Mike Newell sealed victory for his side at the Forest Ground, he was making history in other ways. His goal in the 78th minute, which made it 3-1 for Rovers, was the thousandth in the history of the Barclays Premier League.

Less than eight months after the first goal in the competition had been scored by Sheffield United’s Brian Deane, the landmark was reached.

Jason Wilcox had opened the scoring for Blackburn with Nigel Clough equalising before Stuart Ripley and Newell won the match for the visiting side.

It was one of 13 goals that the former Everton forward scored for Rovers that season, his best at the club. The arrival of Chris Sutton to accompany Alan Shearer meant Newell did not figure as much in the 1994/95 title-winning side, appearing mainly as a substitute in Kenny Dalglish’s team.

After leaving the Barclays Premier League for Birmingham City, Newell returned briefly on loan to West Ham United in the 1996/97 season but failed to register a goal.

The victory kept Rovers in fourth, where they finished the season, while Forest sank to the bottom and they were there at the end of the competition’s inaugural campaign.

Share this page

Key Points

  • looks back through the annals of history of the competition
  • A piece of action from each day of the year will be selected
  • We remember a landmark in the inaugural season of the competition