Cookies on

The Premier League website employs cookies to improve your user experience. We have updated our cookie policy to reflect changes in the law on cookies and tracking technologies used on websites. If you continue on this website, you will be providing your consent to our use of cookies. Find out more.

Friday 03 May 2013

On this day: United crowned first champions

Looking back at history of Premier League, we recall first of 13 titles won by Manchester United

  • Ryan Giggs celebrated with Eric Cantona after equalising for Man Utd

  • Steve Bruce and Bryan Robson lifted the first Barclays Premier League jointly

  • The Manchester United squad with their mini-replica trophies instead of medals

  • United manager Alex Ferguson and assistant Brian Kidd held the new trophy aloft

  • United goalkeeper Peter Schemichel celebratedwith his son, Kasper rifles through the annals of the Barclays Premier League to find significant events.

On this day: 3 May 1993 - Manchester United 3-1 Blackburn Rovers

Twenty-four hours after their first title in 26 years was confirmed, Manchester United celebrated becoming the first Barclays Premier League champions in style with a 3-1 victory over one of their main challengers, Blackburn Rovers.

Aston Villa’s 1-0 defeat by Oldham Athletic had confirmed that Alex Ferguson’s team could not be caught at the top but they put their celebrations on hold to beat Rovers, who had taken an eighth-minute lead through Kevin Gallagher.

Ryan Giggs’ goal after 21 minutes meant the sides went in at half-time level and further strikes from Paul Ince and Gary Pallister created a party mood at Old Trafford.

Steve Bruce and Bryan Robson, who was captain but had not featured much in the first team that season, jointly lifted the trophy and the players and staff were awarded, not medals, but miniature replicas of the Premier League trophy.

Share this page

Key Points

  • looks back through the annals of history of the competition
  • A memorable event or match from each day of the year will be selected
  • We remember the first champions Manchester United being awarded the trophy in 1993