Cookies on

The Premier League website employs cookies to improve your user experience. We have updated our cookie policy to reflect changes in the law on cookies and tracking technologies used on websites. If you continue on this website, you will be providing your consent to our use of cookies. Find out more.

Friday 17 May 2013

Premier League awards for Ferguson & Bale

Man Utd boss and Tottenham winger win Barclays Manager and Player of the Season

Gareth Bale has scored 20 goals in the Barclays Premier League this season

Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson and Tottenham Hotspur midfielder Gareth Bale have been named as the Barclays Manager and Player of the Season.

Ferguson has just led United to their 13th Barclays Premier League title and picks up the award for the 11th time.

The 71-year-old announced last week that he would be retiring at the end of the season after more than 26 years at Old Trafford. In that time Ferguson has won a total of 38 trophies.

Bale, 23, scored 25 goals in all competitions this season, including 20 goals in 32 appearances in the Barclays Premier League and is regarded as one of the biggest talents in Europe.

Key Points

  • Sir Alex Ferguson wins Barclays Manager of the Season
  • Manchester United boss wins award for 11th time after winning the Premier League title
  • Tottenham Hotspur winger Gareth Bale wins Barclays Player of the Year for first time