Cookies on

The Premier League website employs cookies to improve your user experience. We have updated our cookie policy to reflect changes in the law on cookies and tracking technologies used on websites. If you continue on this website, you will be providing your consent to our use of cookies. Find out more.

Four Barclays Premier League stars up for award

Wayne Rooney among the big stars nominated for top football prize

Wayne Rooney could win the award for being the best footballer this year

Wayne Rooney is one of four Barclays Premier League stars on a short-list for an award given to the best footballer of the year.

The trophy, which is called the Ballon D'Or,  is awarded by fooball's governing body Fifa.

The other star players from the Barclays Premier League on the short-list are Sergio Aguero of Manchester City,

Rooney's United team-mate Nani and Liverpool striker Luis Suarez. Former Arsenal star Cesc Fabregas is also on the list.

Three Barclays Premier League managers have been nominated in the Coach of the Year Category. They are Sir Alex Ferguson of Manchester United, Chelsea's Andre Villas-Boas and Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger.

Coaches and captains of international teams, as well as sports journalists from around the world take part in the vote to decide who wins the trophy.

Player nominees: Eric Abidal (France), Sergio Aguero (Argentina), Karim Benzema (France), Iker Casillas (Spain), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Dani Alves (Brazil), Samuel Eto'o (Cameroon), Cesc Fabregas (Spain), Diego Forlan (Uruguay), Andres Iniesta (Spain), Lionel Messi (Argentina), Thomas Muller (Germany), Nani (Portugal), Neymar (Brazil), Mesut Ozil (Germany), Gerard Pique (Spain), Wayne Rooney (England), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany), Wesley Sneijder (Netherlands), Luis Suarez (Uruguay), David Villa (Spain), Xabi Alonso (Spain), Xavi (Spain).

Coach nominees: Vicente Del Bosque (Spain/Spain national team), Sir Alex Ferguson (Scotland/Manchester United FC), Rudi Garcia (France/Lille OSC), Pep Guardiola (Spain/FC Barcelona), Jurgen Klopp (Germany/Borussia Dortmund), Joachim Low (Germany/Germany national team), Jose Mourinho (Portugal/Real Madrid), Oscar Tabarez (Uruguay/Uruguay national team), Andre Villas-Boas (Portugal/FC Porto, Chelsea, Arsene Wenger (France/Arsenal).

Key Points

  • Sergio Aguero, Nani, Wayne Rooney and Luis Suarez could win prize
  • Ballon D'Or is awarded to the best footballer of the year
  • Players, coaches and journalists vote for who wins