• CLUB

    Manchester United



Premier League Management Record
Matches W D L GF GA Pts Win %
460 190 129 141 624 541 699 41.0
Management Career
Premier League Clubs Everton, Manchester United
Champions -
Manager of the Year -
Manager of the Month

November 2002, September 2004, January 2006, February 2008, February 2009, January 2010, March 2010, October 2010, September 2012, March 2013

Other Honours

Preston North End
  League 1: 1999/00
  Promotion to Championship: 1999/00

Career Summary

David Moyes is the new Manchester United manager after taking over from retired Sir Alex Ferguson, who enjoyed 26 years in charge at Old Trafford.

Moyes was the third-longest serving manager in the Barclays Premier League, behind Ferguson and Arsene Wenger, having taken charge of over 400 league matches since being appointed as Everton manager in March 2002.

Moyes made a name for himself at Preston North End, where he gained promotion to the second tier of English football and narrowly missed out on getting to the Premier League, only to lose the 2001 Championship Play-off Final to Bolton Wanderers.

After great success at Preston, he succeeded Walter Smith as manager at Goodison Park. He took over the side when they were above the relegation zone on goal difference, and he led them to 15th place, seven points above the drop zone, in the 2001/02 campaign.

An impressive transformation of the club’s fortunes followed and they finished seventh in Moyes’ first full season in charge. In the 2004/05 season, Everton finished ahead of Merseyside rivals Liverpool in fourth position, their highest ever Premier League finish to date, and they secured UEFA Champions League qualification as a result.

Moyes established the Toffees in the top seven of the Premier League from 2006/07 onwards and has led his side to UEFA Europa League qualification on three occasions. His efforts have been rewarded with 10 Premier League Manager of the Month awards to date, including two in the 2012/13 season.

Playing Career

Celtic: 1980-83
Cambridge United: 1983-85
Bristol City: 1985-87
Shrewsbury Town: 1987-90
Dunfermaline Athletic: 1990-93
Hamilton Academical: 1993
Preston North End: 1993-01

View manager profile on the official Manchester United Football Club website

Share this page