Cookies on

The Premier League website employs cookies to improve your user experience. We have updated our cookie policy to reflect changes in the law on cookies and tracking technologies used on websites. If you continue on this website, you will be providing your consent to our use of cookies. Find out more.








  • CLUB




Premier League Management Record
Matches W D L GF GA Pts Win %
810 528 168 114 1627 703 1752 65.0
Management Career
Premier League Clubs Manchester United

1992/93, 1993/94, 1995/96, 1996/97, 1998/99, 1999/00, 2000/01, 2002/03, 2006/07, 2007/08, 2008/09, 2010/11, 2012/13

Manager of the Year

1993/94, 1995/96, 1996/97, 1998/99, 1999/00, 2002/03, 2006/07, 2007/08, 2008/09, 2010/11, 2012/13

Manager of the Month

August 1993, October 1994, February 1996, March 1996, February 1997, October 1997, January 1999, April 1999, August 1999, March 2000, April 2000, February 2001, April 2003, December 2003, February 2005, March 2006, August 2006, October 2006, February 2007, January 2008, March 2008, January 2009, April 2009, September 2009, January 2011, August 2011, October 2012

Other Honours

St Mirren
  Promotion to Scottish Premier League: 1976/77

  Scottish Premier League: 1979/80, 1983/84, 1984/85
  Scottish Cup: 1981/82, 1982/83, 1983/84, 1985/86
  European Cup Winners' Cup: 1982/83
  UEFA Super Cup: 1983
  Scottish League Cup: 1985/86

Manchester United
  FA Cup: 1989/90, 1993/94, 1995/96, 1998/99, 2003/04
  Community Shield: 1990, 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2010
  European Cup Winners' Cup: 1990/91
  League Cup: 1991/92, 2005/06, 2008/09, 2009/10
  UEFA Champions League: 1998/99, 2007/08
  Intercontinental Cup: 1999
  FIFA Club World Cup: 2008

Career Summary

Sir Alex Ferguson is the most successful manager in British football history and finally signed off a glittering career by winning his 13th Barclays Premier League title with Manchester United in the 2012/13 season. Since joining in 1986, he lifted over 30 trophies as the boss at Old Trafford.

The vastly experienced Scotsman ended Man Utd’s 26-year wait for a top flight title by winning the inaugural Premier League in the 1992/93 season and went on to enjoy unprecedented success in the next two decades. Ferguson’s side had been edged to the First Division title the year before by Leeds United, but the elusive league title returned to Old Trafford in 1993.

Under the guidance of Ferguson, United enjoyed huge success for the rest of the 1990s, with Blackburn (1994/95) and Arsenal (1997/98) the only sides to prise away the league title from Old Trafford. During this period, the Red Devils also won the FA Cup three times and UEFA Champions League in 1999 with two injury-time goals in a dramatic 2-1 win over Bayern Munich.

The basis of their glowing success was the youth academy with Ryan Giggs, David Beckham, Gary Neville, Phil Neville, Paul Scholes and Nicky Butt among a selection of ‘Fergie’s fledglings’ coming to prominence in the early to mid-1990s.

Man Utd’s success continued into the new millennium as a result, with Ferguson’s charges winning the league eight more times and contesting some gripping title races with Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool and Manchester City during that time. He also guided the club to a second UEFA Champions League triumph in 2008, as well as three League Cup trophies, one FA Cup and the FIFA Club World Cup.

Man Utd’s 13th Premier League title and 20th top-flight triumph came with four matches to spare in the 2012/13 season, as Ferguson exceeded 800 Premier League matches and 1,400 matches in all competitions. The former Aberdeen and Scotland boss has won Premier League Manager of the Year on 10 occasions to date, as well as picking up the monthly accolade 27 times.

Playing Career

Queen's Park: 1957-60
St. Johnstone: 1960-64
Dunfermaline Athletic: 1964-67
Rangers: 1967-69
Falkirk: 1969-73
Ayr United: 1973-74

Share this page