Cookies on

The Premier League website employs cookies to improve your user experience. We have updated our cookie policy to reflect changes in the law on cookies and tracking technologies used on websites. If you continue on this website, you will be providing your consent to our use of cookies. Find out more.

Monday 29 April 2013

Spurs winger Bale claims PFA awards double

Tottenham's Gareth Bale wins the PFA Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year awards

PFA chief executive Gordon Taylor with double award winner Gareth Bale

Tottenham Hotspur winger Gareth Bale has become only the third player to be voted by the Professional Footballers' Association (PFA) as the Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year in the same season.

The 23-year-old joins Manchester United's Cristiano Ronaldo (2007) and Aston Villa's Andy Gray (1977) on the exclusive list after a superb campaign for his club.

He has scored 24 goals in all competitions, including 19 goals in 29 appearances in the Barclays Premier League, and is regarded as one of the most dangerous attacking threats in Europe.

"I couldn't have done it without the team"
Gareth Bale

Bale, who joined Tottenham from Southampton in 2007, is the first Spurs player to win the PFA Player of the Year award on two occasions, having been awarded it in 2011.

"It's a massive honour," said the Welshman. "To be voted by your peers is one of the biggest things in the game. It's great to win it and I am delighted.

"When you look at the list there are some massive names on it and the other nominees have been unbelievable this year, but I couldn't have done it without the team. They have been fantastic this year and so has the manager. I couldn't have won it without them so I would like to give them all a big thank you as well."

Bale beat off competition from Manchester United midfielder Michael Carrick, United striker Robin van Persie, Chelsea playmakers Juan Mata and Eden Hazard and Liverpool forward Luis Suarez for the senior award.

Hazard, Aston Villa striker Christian Benteke, West Bromwich Albion's Romelu Lukaku, striker Danny Welbeck of Manchester United and Arsenal midfielder Jack Wilshere were on the Young Player of the Year shortlist.

New Barclays Premier League champions Manchester United dominated the PFA Team of Year, with goalkeeper David De Gea, defender Rio Ferdinand, Carrick and Van Persie named in the select XI.

PFA Team of the Year

David De Gea (Man Utd)

Pablo Zabaleta (Manchester City),  Rio Ferdinand (Man Utd), Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham), Leighton Baines (Everton)

Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Juan Mata (Chelsea), Michael Carrick (Man Utd), Gareth Bale (Tottenham)

Robin van Persie (Manchester United), Luis Suarez (Liverpool)

Past winners of the PFA Player of the Year Awards

  PFA Player of the Year PFA  Young Player of The Year
Season Player Club Player Club
1992/93 Paul McGrath Aston Villa Ryan Giggs Man Utd
1993/94 Eric Cantona Man Utd Andy Cole Newcastle
1994/95 Alan Shearer Blackburn Robbie Fowler Liverpool
1995/96 Les Ferdinand Newcastle Robbie Fowler Liverpool
1996/97 Alan Shearer Newcastle David Beckham Man Utd
1997/98 Dennis Bergkamp Arsenal Michael Owen Liverpool
1998/99 David Ginola Spurs Nicolas Anelka Arsenal
1999/00 Roy Keane Man Utd Harry Kewell Leeds United
2000/01 Teddy Sheringham Man Utd Steven Gerrard Liverpool
2001/02 Ruud van Nistelrooy Man Utd Craig Bellamy Newcastle
2002/03 Thierry Henry Arsenal Jermaine Jenas Newcastle
2003/04 Thierry Henry Arsenal Scott Parker Charlton/Chelsea
2004/05 John Terry Chelsea Wayne Rooney Man Utd
2005/06 Steven Gerrard Liverpool Wayne Rooney Man Utd
2006/07 Cristiano Ronaldo Man Utd Cristiano Ronaldo Man Utd
2007/08 Cristiano Ronaldo Man Utd Cesc Fàbregas Arsenal
2008/09 Ryan Giggs Man Utd Ashley Young Aston Villa
2009/10 Wayne Rooney Man Utd James Milner Aston Villa
2010/11 Gareth Bale Spurs Jack Wilshere Arsenal
2011/12 Robin van Persie Arsenal Kyle Walker Spurs
2012/13 Gareth Bale Spurs Gareth Bale Spurs

Share this page

Key Points

  • Gareth Bale voted as the PFA Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year
  • Tottenham winger becomes third player to claim both awards in one year
  • David De Gea one of four Man Utd players in PFA Team of the Year